Valencia CF vs Villarreal

Jan, 26 / 20:45 Matchday 21

Actualidad del Valencia C.F.
August, 11 2016

Valencia CF to play ACF Fiorentina in 45th Trofeo Naranja Estrella Damm

The Trofeo Naranja Estrella Damm celebrates its 45th edition this year, as Valencia CF play ACF Fiorentina on Saturday at Mestalla in the prestigious preseason fixture. As is tradition, the official team presentation for the 2016/17 squad will be held before kick-off.

Since its inaugural edition in 1959, the trophy game has seen some of the world’s biggest clubs visit Valencia to compete against VCF. European champions Bayern Munich, AC Milan, Real Madrid and FC Barcelona, ​​ winners of the Intercontinental Cup such as Sao Paulo, and other sides from far and wide have made the summer trip. Legends like Pele, Franz Beckenbauer, Sepp Maier, Gerd Muller, Roberto Baggio and Gary Lineker have all added participation in the Trofeo Naranja to their resumés.

A triangular format was run from 1970 to 1997, with only three exceptions: A quadrangular setup in 1976 and a single game in 1985 and 1986. Since 1998 the Trofeo Naranja has been a single match, except for in 2005 (a triangular tournament won by Udinese and also featuring Olympiacos).

Valencia CF won every edition of the competition from 2008 to 2014, beating Vitesse, Arsenal, Fiorentina, AS Roma, Porto, Olympiacos and AC Milan in consecutive summers. The streak was ended last year by AS Roma with a 1-3 victory.

2016 Trofeo Naranja Estrella Damm opponents Fiorentina finished fifth in Italy’s Serie A last season, and are two-time winners of the Scudetto (1955-56 and 1968-69). They have also been victorious in the European Cup Winners Cup (1960-61), the Coppa Italia six times, and the Italian Super Cup. Currently coached by Paulo Sousa, 'La Viola' feature players with experience in Spanish football in 
Gonzalo Rodriguez, Matias Fernandez, Marcos Alonso, Borja Valero and Carlos Sánchez.
Winners of the Trofeo Naranja Estrella Damm

Valencia CF: x25
Parma: x2
Real Madrid: x2
FC Barcelona: x1
Atletico Madrid: x1

CSKA Moscow: x1

Bayern Munich: x1
Red Star: x1
PSV Eindhoven: x1  
Borussia Monchengladbach: x1  
Hungary: x1  
Kaiserslautern: x1  
Boca Juniors: x1  
Flamengo: x1
Dynamo Moscow: x1  
Palmeiras: x1  
Udinese: x1 
Roma: x1