Getafe vs Valencia CF

Jan, 22 / 21:30 Matchday 8

Actualidad del Valencia C.F.
Juny, 14 2018

Rodrigo will be VCF’s 20th player on Spain duty in a World Cup

Rodrigo will be looking to keep his run of form going in Russia

Valencia CF forward Rodrigo Moreno Machado has been one of the pivotal figures in Valencia CF’s brilliant season. If he joins the action in Russia at the 2018 World Cup that kicks off this Thursday, he will be Valencia CF’s 20th player to feature for the Spain senior side in international football's top competition.

Valencia CF’s number 19 has been on fine form throughout the season and he will be looking to keep it going in Russia. Rodrigo is following four Valencia CF cult heroes like David Silva, Carlos Marchena, Juan Mata and David Villa who had the honour to represent Spain at South Africa 2010 which saw Spain be crowned World Champions.

The 2014 World Cup in Brazil had no Valencia CF players representing Spain, but the 2006 World Cup in Germany had four Valencia CF cult heroes in the national team - David Villa who netted three goals and played all four games in the group stage, David Albelda, Carlos Marchena and Santiago Cañizares.

The 2002 South Korea and Japan World Cup had three Valencia CF players in the squad - David Albelda, Curro Torres, and Rubén Baraja and it could have been four if Santiago Cañizares had not suffered a domestic accident that ruled him out in the days leading up to it.

Andoni Zubizarreta represented Spain in France at the 1998 World Cup, in the previous edition Paco Camarasa and another keeper Jose Manuel Ochotorena who is VCF’s goalkeeping coach featured for Spain between the posts at Italia '90 alongside Quique Sánchez Flores and Fernando Gómez.

Spain were the hosts in the 1982 World Cup and Valencia CF legend Miguel Tendillo played for them. Other Valencia CF legends, the likes of Antonio Puchades, Ignacio Izaguirre, Vicente Asensi and Silvestre Igoa, played in 1950 which saw Spain finish in a remarkable fourth place after Uruguay, who were crowned Champions, the hosts and runners-up Brazil and Sweden.